Hot apple cider with brandy – Happy Thanksgiving!

_MG_2202smI grew up in Hungary – Thanksgiving is an adopted holiday for me. How could you not like a holiday, though, that is about spending time with people important to you and sharing and savoring food together?
I woke up this morning (at 5:30 – what is wrong with me, on a day off when I could sleep in?) and felt taken over by a feeling of quiet contentment – that I could snuggle up to the person who works hard to make me happy, that there was (at least one) soft, furry creature on my other side to touch and pet, that I had four mornings to look forward to without the alarm going off, that there would be walks and cooking and baking and reading and knitting and sipping coffee and tea…all the little wonderful things in life that make my day.

I hope all of you who read this a had a morning as pleasant as mine.

The spicy brandied apple cider below is a perfect chilly evening sip, enjoy!

4 cups apple cider
4 whole cloves
4 whole allspice berries
4 whole cardamom seeds
2 cinnamon sticks
brandy to taste

Combine cider or juice, cloves, allspice, cardamom and cinnamon sticks in a large saucepan. Simmer for 20 minutes; strain out spices and stir in brandy according to taste. Serve very hot in heavy mugs.

Rceipe from eatingwell.com

Leave a Reply

